It is the function and duty of the Historical Development Commission to study, investigate and survey the needs of the City in the development of historical sites, materials, and other related matters including the use and development of lands and facilities now owned or to be acquired by the City for historical purposes. The Historical Development Commission also recommends projects to be funded from the annual proceeds distributed to the City from the Governor Chase S. Osborn Trust Fund.

Meeting Schedule

The Historical Development Commission meets monthly, with dates and times adjusting to meet the board's availability, in the Mayor's Conference Room at City Hall. Meetings can be cancelled or rescheduled, if necessary.

You can find information on the Historical Development Commission meeting schedule, agendas, and minutes via the meeting portal: Agendas and Minutes

Membership and Term

The board consists of not more than seven members appointed by the City Commission (3 members) and Chippewa County Historical Society (4 members). All members serve seven year terms.

Current Board Members

- Deidre Stevens (Term Expiration 12/31/2030)
- Ruth Neveu (Term Expiration 12/31/2024)
- Virginia Cymbalist (Term Expiration 9/1/2025)
- Mary M. June (Term Expiration 12/31/2026)
- Thomas Tocco (Term Expiration 12/31/2028)
- Patty Olsen (Term Expiration 12/31/2029)
- Roger Blanchard (Term Expiration 9/1/2027)
- Tracey Laitinen, City Staff Liaison (non-voting member)
- Steve Habusta, City Commission Liaison (non-voting member)

Boards and Commission Application Process

Please submit completed Boards and Commission Application to:

Email: rtroyer [at] saultcity.com Mail: City of Sault Ste. Marie - Robin Troyer, Deputy City Manager, 225 East Portage Avenue, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 View PDF

City Hall 225 E. Portage Ave Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 United States

View in Google Maps